Oil cleansing

February 7, 2009

oliveoil

For quite some time I’ve been using cleansing oils to take off my makeup, followed by my usual cleanser. There are tons of misconceptions floating around about using oil on your face. No, it won’t break you out or turn your complexion into a grease-ball. Oil cuts oil, meaning it will help to dissolve the oil your sebaceous glands produce as well as makeup.

I’ve tried DHC Deep Cleansing Oil (my fave, although I dislike paying shipping), Boscia Makeup Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil, and Nude Skincare Cleansing Facial Oil. Lancome and Shu Umera have some that I have not yet tried but I’ve heard nothing other then good things about them. A fellow artist gave me a few little tubes of the Nude oil at an audition we were both attending and I fell in love with it instantly! I just couldn’t fathom spending $52 on something that was primarily soybean, vegetable, and olive oil.

Steph at Endorphins sent me a note about oil cleansing a while back and I wanted to share the information she’s bestowed upon me. Check out Steph’s article, which includes tips on mixing your own oil at home. I never thought to make my own cleansing oil! I concocted my own blend last night (10% castor, 60% sunflower, and 30% olive, although you don’t need to use both) and it felt like a combination of DHC’s and Nude. I’m totally excited by how much money I’m going to save.

Leave a Reply

