Pre-Spring Beauty

February 12, 2009

springbelle

As all of the major cosmetics lines debut the new trends for Spring 2009, I won’t forget about my old tried and true standbys. They are things that I simply could not live without and work for most everyone.

1. Opi’s Strawberry Margarita nail polish is my perfect pink. I usually sport clear polish and this is my go to when I need a little color. It’s also a great pedicure shade year round.

2. Korres lip butter in Pomegranate gives a lovely hint of coral to the lips while hydrating. I’ve tried it on several skin tones and it looks fab on just about everyone. I also love it under a sheer peach lip gloss.

3. In the mood for a sweet, fresh, soft candle? Look no further then Fresh’s Sugar Lychee scented candle. This scent also features the fragrance of lotus and grapefruit. Yum!

4. Nars Multiple in Orgasm gives you a fresh peachy-pink glow in one swipe. You can use it on your cheeks, eyes, and lips for a quick monochromatic look in seconds. It has just enough shimmer to make you look dewy, not glittery. Take caution: a little goes a long way and don’t forget to blend.

5. Stila’s eyeshadow duo in Lilly is a great way to transition your fall/winter shadows into spring. Both shadows are sheer and look great mixed with browns. I especially love the peach color paired with simple black liner and a lightly defined crease.

6. One of my favorite blushes to brighten dull winter complexions is LORAC’s Cheek Stamp in Hibiscus. The innovative packaging features a pan of the sheer pink blush on one end and a “stamp” sponge on the other end. It’s designed to press the stamp directly on the cheek and blend with a brush or fingers. My favorite application trick is to take a fan brush and lightly dust over the apples of your cheeks. The product lasts a long time, too. I’ve had mine for nearly two years and with almost daily use am just hitting the bottom of the pan.

Leave a Reply

