Wallet-friendly products

February 12, 2009

inexp

If you have the urge to plunk down some hard earned cash on beauty loot but can’t afford higher end cosmetics, check out your local drug store. There are some hidden gem’s among the countless isles. Also, many private label brands at luxury beauty stores are reasonably priced and good quality so do check them out instead of passing them up.

1. Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush lip glosses, currently 2 for $12 or 5 for $20. Sheer color, smooth, tasty, everything a girl wants in her gloss, and a good deal!

2. Sephora Flashy Liner Waterproof eye pencil, $8 each. Flashy Brown and Flashy Copper are my personal faves. They glide right on without pulling or tugging and they wear for hours without smudging. Tip: the color Flashy Blue is a dupe of Urban Decay’s Electric liner, which is twice the price.

3. Sephora Blush Me! mono blush, $10 each. My favorite hues on a variety of skin tones is Corail Frisson and Abricot Plaisir. If you layer the two together, almost equals the color of Nars Orgasm. Insider info: Abricot Plaisir was a hit at Fashion Week Live Backstage 2007!

4. Sally Hansen Hard as Nails polish in Blue It, $3-$7, depending on store. Sally Hansen is my drug store go-to for nail polish, and they have a great range of colors from blue to pinks to nudes. Many times you can find discounts on shades that are being DC’d.

5. Wet N Wild MegaEyes Shadow Pot in Wicked, under $4, not available at all stores. If I’m in a bind and need to have a smokey color asap, I usually turn to Wet N Wild’s Wicked. At that price, I usually give it to my client to keep so they can recreate the look later.

6. Jane Kabuki Brush, $5, see janecosmetics.com store locator for where to buy. I like this brush for bronzers and pressed powder. Works best with a small amount of product and light hand.

7. Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, around $5. If I’ve forgotten my disposable mascara wands on a job (I’m human, it happens!) I go for Great Lash. It’s inexpensive, adds volume without clumping, and also comes in a water proof formula. Plus, I can get it at any drug store.

8. Cover Girl Eye Enhancers eye shadow, see stores for pricing. These are great for trying out trendy colors that will be out next season. I love that the colors are coordinated and blend fairly easy.

4 Responses to “Wallet-friendly products”

  1. giggleaugogo said

    oo! i lovee this post. you are so awesome to help us make up lovers with our wallets. yay april!

  2. I know my pocket is feeling all the price increases of everything beauty related. I’m pretty sure the things I love have gone up .50 to $1 =(

  3. Amiyah said

    I’m so glad I found this! I wanted to buy something at sephoras but everything is so much money. Now I can get eyeliner and blush!

  4. Amiyah- Do check out Sephora’s own brand. Tons of items are budget friendly and great quality. Clinique is also a budget-conscious brand, for both makeup and skincare.

Leave a Reply

