Bare Escentuals Buxom Lash

March 7, 2009

bebl

Bare Escentuals new Buxom Lash Mascara promises 12 hours of flake-free volume and length, while darkening lashes without clumps. It doesn’t contain parabens or synthetic fragrances and dyes. It also claims to add volume to lashes by up to 300%. At $18, it’s in the mid-range price point and sounds promising.

I’ve had a tube gathering dust in my makeup stash for about a month, untouched and forgotten. In the past week, one of my friends professed undying love for it, while another tossed hers away after the first use. It just goes to show that what may work for one person might not give the same results for the next. With mixed reviews in mind, I set out to find it and use it.

Pros: I have rather sensitive eyes and the new B.E. Buxom lash didn’t irritate them, even while wearing my contacts. It didn’t seem to flake (at least that I’m aware of), and it didn’t clump. It looked natural and just slightly enhanced my lashes (this is a plus for me, since I don’t like to look like I’m wearing mascara at all). I also rather like the brush.

Cons: My lashes did not have 300% more volume. Not even close. It also made my lashes look matte and dry, and they felt dry after I removed my makeup.

The verdict: This product is worth a try, just don’t expect miracles, and be sure to have a good lash conditioner on hand.

Leave a Reply

